THE JOURNEY OF A MILLENNIAL FEDERAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE @GOVLOOP

After ten years of living in the DC area, I can pretty confidently say that one of the first questions you will be asked at a DC happy hour is, “So, what do you do?” It’s not at all strange to hear the response, “I work for/in the government” (hello, it is the nation’s capital). And then sometimes people ask how you got there, and from there, most stories are not the same.

For me, I didn’t always plan to work in federal government – my journey began with a passion for international development, but it wasn’t a straightforward path, and I dare say that the unexpected twists and turns are what made me realize what I really wanted to do as a career.

So, to save you from some of the bumps (but you certainly don’t want to miss all of them because they can be kind of fun), here are some of the lessons I learned on my path into federal employment (and some of these lessons likely transcend career fields):

Read the lessons that Samantha learned at GovLoop

Leave a Reply

